CHS inducts 39 into NHS

October 30, 2015

38 juniors & one senior were inducted into Clare High School’s National Honor Society at a special ceremony Tuesday evening.

38 juniors & one senior were inducted into Clare High School’s National Honor Society at a special ceremony Tuesday evening.

By Pat Maurer

Wednesday morning, Clare High School Principal Ed Hubel said, “I am incredibly proud of the academic commitment of both the CHS staff and students.  Clare High School has 33 senior students in National Honor Society (and inducted another).  The junior class inducted 38 more students last night.  Those numbers represent 34% of our upperclassmen population.”

The National Honor Society Induction Ceremony played to a full house in the Clare High School Cafeteria Tuesday evening as parents, family members and friends came to see their students admitted into the NHS.

The event included a special welcome by Josiah Bear; an explanation of the NHS Symbolism; Scholarship by Collin Beaven; Service by Madison McPhee; Leadership by Saleen Picard; and Character by Julian LeFebre.

In his remarks to the incoming NHS members, Clare Superintendent Doug Fillmore talked about the four aspects of membership in the National Honor Society: scholarship, service, character and service. He said, “Leadership isn’t defined as being in charge of other people. In order to be a leader of others, you must first successfully lead yourself. Don’t ask other people to do something that you wouldn’t do yourself. A good leader demonstrates a great work ethic, a spirit of teamwork, and strong communication skills. These are the same traits that will make you an outstanding employee whatever your chosen career.”

The National Honor Society Pledge was led by Josiah Bear and Mrs. Jamie LaPoe announced each new inductee as they came up to the “stage.”
New NHS members include Senior Mallory McDowell and Juniors: Jordyn Bradley, Hannah Brown, Anna Cole, Hannah David, Rebecca Delecki, Mackenzie Delong, Selena Dole, Rhiannon Dunlap, Lauryn Fairchild, Madelyn Franko, Kate Grove, Mackenzie Harmon, Jasmine Harper, Alexis Harton, Brittany Hasman, Benjamin Haupt, Ashley Hayer, Mitchell Hilyard, Victoria Hitchcock, Hailey Hochstetler, Christine Huang, Bailey Hubel, Karly Humphrey, Kayla Junge, Paige Keely, Mabel Krause, Katie Kronewitter, Jerry Medford, Carea Mullin, Colton Petree, Holly Pummell, Tucker Roe, Gabrielle Sherwood, Alea Thayer, Elizabeth Townsend, Thaddeus Warner, Veronica Wentworth and Brandon Zinser.

Share This Post

Error, no group ID set! Check your syntax!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *