Clare joins energy coalition

April 6, 2012

A proposal to join the Michigan Jobs and Energy Coalition was the only item of business not unanimously approved at the Clare City meeting Monday evening. Commissioner Tom Koch voted no on the matter after Jeff Mayes, Public Affairs Area Manager from Consumer’s Energy gave an overview of the coalition.

The coalition, MJEC, was established in 2008 to help develop a long-term energy policy for Michigan . The Michigan legislature passed the policy in 08 after two years of debate.

Mayes said the policy ends a rate subsidy business, caps deregulation at 10 percent, creates energy efficient program to help customers reduce electric and natural gas use, requires 10 percent of electricity come from renewable sources by 2015, and allows utilities to make capital investments in the state.

The Commission also heard a brief presentation from Probate Judge candidate Tara Hovey and a report on legislative matters from State Representative Joel Johnson.

Johnson talked about a current proposal to eliminate personal property tax, saying there was “talk” about replacing most of the funds with dollars from expired tax credits. He outlined a plan to equalize school funding for all districts across the State and a proposal he is working on to allow students to opt for vocational credits to replace some college preparatory classes in high school.

In other business Monday evening, the City:

Approved the Clare County Livestock Association Charitable Gaming License.

Approved the MDOT Federal/State/Local Airport Project Grant to fund the design of a parallel taxiway for Runway 04/22 at the Clare Municipal Airport at an estimated cost of $67,000. The City’s share is estimated at $1.675.

Approved a four-year extension of an Oil and Gas Lease with Energy Quest Inc. The company pays the city $28,000 to lease oil and gas exploration rights for 200 acres of city owned property.2

Approved Waste Water Treatment Plant project contractor payments of $18,225.36 to J. Ranck Electric and $76,731.20 to J.R. Heineman.

Appointed John Kline, Jeff Punches and Denny Purkis to the Board of Review.

Share This Post

Error, no group ID set! Check your syntax!