Clare sweeps JPC track

May 22, 2014

Boys and girls Jack Pine Conference track champions.

Boys and girls Jack Pine Conference track champions.

By Ben Murphy

With the Clare boys’ and girls’ track teams coming of regular season Jack Pine Conference titles, all they needed was a win the championship meet to seal the deal. Mission accomplished.

The boys won the meet to win their 11th straight JPC championship, getting 184.5 points. Meridian took second with 179.5, Gladwin was third with 96, Harrison was fourth with 64.5 and Farwell took fifth with 56.

“(This meet) was one of the more special  meets to be a part of,” Clare boys’ head coach Adam Burhans said. “I was clearly expecting us to finish second and split the title with Meridian. Both teams all season were eerily balanced at opposite ends of the running and fields events and I was going to be a coin flip at the end. Throughout the night, both teams stole points and in the end we stole a bit more.”

Tylre Gillespie was named league MVP, winning the shot put (45’2″) and took second in the discus (129’11″). Teammate Levi Boyton won the discus with a toss of 130’2″.

Chase Field won the pole vault (13’), Devin Ayers won the 110 hurdles (16.65), Kevin Spicer-Torres won the 800 (2:04.5) and Hunter Nivison won the 3200 (8:45).

The 3200 relay team of Nivison, Spicer-Torres, Field and Brock Demo also won, with a time of 8:45.

5-23-14 clarebtrack

Clare’s Chase Field runs a relay race during the Jack Pine Conference championships in Gladwin on Tuesday.

Boynton took third place in the shot put (42’6″), Nivison took second in the 800 (2:05), Kyler Phillips was second in the 3200 (10:30), Ben Haupt was third in the 3200 (10:31) and the 1600 relay took third (3:43) as well.

“I couldn’t be more proud for a young team who was banged up for much of the season,” Burhanss said.

Other top area finishers were Farwell’s Tanner Touchstone winning the high jump (6’2″) and Cameron Disbrow taking third in the 110 hurdles (16.72).

Harrison had Adam Scherrer take third in the high jump (6’).

The Lady Pioneers won the meet with 179 points, giving them their first conference title since 2011. Gladwin took second with 125 points, Farwell came in fifth with 62 and Harrison was sixth with 56.

Krystem Kruskamp (field events MVP) won the high jump (5’), long jump (15’10″), 300 hurdles (49.6) and was third in the 200 (28.7).

Jasmine Harper (running MVP) won the 800 (2:27) and ran on the first place 3200 relay team (10:46.) She also took second in the 3200 (12:43) and 1600 (5:39).

Victoria Harper, Lindsay Winter and Robyn Stanley were also on the winning 3200 relay team, with Victoria Harper also winning the 3200 (12:43) and 1600 (5:39) and taking second in the 800 (2:31).

Clare’s 800 relay team of Kodi Humprey, Lexi Harton, Madison McPhee and Paige Gould took first (1:54.5) as did the 1600 relay team of Humphrey, Gould, McPhee and Winter (4:27). Winter also came in third in the 3200 (2:34).

Farwell was led by Kasye Staley winning the pole vault (10’) and McKenze Garver took second in the high jump (5’).

Kate Sherrick took third for Harrison in the long jump (15’1.5″) and the Hornets 400 relay team took second as well.

On Friday, Clare hosted a division three track regional, with the boys coming in fourth place and the girls winning their

Clare’s Robyn Stanley runs a relay during the JPC championships.

Clare’s Robyn Stanley runs a relay during the JPC championships.

first regional title since 2006.

“I was comfortable finishing 4th to the teams that beat us,” Burhans said. “It was a four horse race all day.”

Standish-Sterling won the meet with 124, Clare had 82 for fourth, Farwell was ninth with 20 and Harrison was 11th with 12.

Clare was led by Field winning the pole vault and Farwell’s Touchstone won the high jump.

Clare also had Alex Haupt come in sixth in the 100, Spicer-Torres place fifth in the 800, Nivison come in second in the 1600, Phillips placed third in the 1600, Haupt placed fifth in the 1600, Nivisson was third in the 3200, Spicer-Torres was fourth in the even, Phillips was fifth and Haupt took sixth.

Devin Ayers took sixth in the 110 hurdles, Damien Brown was fourth in the shot put, Tyler Gillespie took fifth and Levi Boynton took sixth. Gillespie was also sixth in the discus.

For Farwell, Touchtone also took fourth in the 400, Cameron Disbrow was fifth in the 110 hurdles and Disbrow took fourth in the 300 hurdles,

Harrison had Zack Nowland take third in the 300 hurdles and had its 400 relay team come in fifth.

The Lady Pioneers won the event with a 125 point total, Harrison was sixth with a 42 and Farwell was eighth with 39.5. Clare’s team moves on the to division three state finals May 31 at Comstock Park.

Jasmine Harper won the 800, 1600 and 3200 and Kruskamp won the 300 hurdles. The 1600 relay team of Winter, Humphrey, McPhee and Gould won, as did the 3200 relay team of Victoria Harper, Winter, Jasmine Harper and Holly Pummell.

Farwell’s Kasey Staley won the pole vault.

Also placing well for Clare was Mallory McDowell coming in third in the 100, Humphrey was sixth in the 100, McPhee was fifth in the 400, Winter was third in the 800, Pummell was sixth in the 800, Victoria Harper was second in the 1600 and second in the 3200, Clare’s 400 relay was third and the 800 was fourth, Kruskamp took fourth in the high jump and second in the long jump.

Farwell’s Hammond was fourth in the 3200, Rebecca Boyd was fourth in the discus and McKenzie Garver took fourth in the pole vault.

For Harrison Sherrick took fifth in the 100, Kassidy Seebeck was sixth in the 400 and sixth in the 1600, Aja Heber was fifth in the 100 hurdles and fourth in the 300 hurdles, Elle Coughlin was fifth in the high jump and Sherrick was fourth in the long jump.

Share This Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

Current day month ye@r *