County incumbents win, Klaus new judge

November 8, 2012

By Pat Maurer

Review Correspondent


55th District Circuit Court Judge Roy G. Mienk will serve another six-year term on the bench. He was re-elected Tuesday winning against challenger and former Clare County Prosecutor Ghazey Aleck II in a 15,064 to 5,757 vote total in Clare and Gladwin Counties. Mienk’s total votes in both Clare and Gladwin were nearly the same with 7,549 cast for him in Clare County, and 7,515 votes in Gladwin County. Aleck did slightly better in Clare County with 3,550 votes than in Gladwin County where he garnered 2,207.

In a much closer race, Attorney Marcy Klaus was picked to be the new 17th District Probate and Family Judge for Clare and Gladwin Counties. Klaus collected 5,906 votes in Clare County, 5,978 in Gladwin and an 11,884 total to beat Attorney Tara Hovey, who collected 5,745 votes in Clare County, and 4,148 in Gladwin for a total of 9,898.

In the race for Prosecutor of Clare County, Incumbent Republican Michelle Ambrozaitis earned another four-year term in a close race against Clare Attorney Jon Ringelberg 6,630 to 6,390.

Sheriff John Wilson, (D) will also keep his title for another four years after he beat Republican challenger Mark McClellan 8,598 to 4,693 in Tuesday’s race.

County Clerk/Register of Deeds Pamela Mayfield (D) also bested challenger Kimberly Davis (R) 7,494 to 5,200 to keep her seat for another four year term.

Faces will not all be the same on the Clare County Commission next year however.

District 1 representative Jerry Burger (R) lost his bid for another term on the board by just 49 votes, losing to Dale Majewski (D) 1,014 to 965.

Board Chair Donald David (R) was also ousted from his District 5 seat by Former Clare Magistrate Rick LaBoda (D) in an 879 to 791 vote.

The only other challenge for a seat on the Commission was in the 6th District, but Karen Lipovsky (D) was reelected to that seat for another term when she bested challenger Jim Keysor (R) in a 1,139 to 823 vote.

District 2 Democrat Lynn Laverty Grim, District 3 Republican Leonard Ray Strouse, District 4 Republican Jack Kleinhardt and District 7 Democrat Jim Gelios were all unopposed in their bid for another two-year term on the board.

Incumbent Democrat Mike Duggan also won his bid for re-election to the Clare County Road Commission by besting challenger Don Kolander in a 7,341 to 5,214 vote.

County Treasurer Jenny Beemer-Fritzinger (D), County Surveyor Paul Lapham (R), and Clare County Drain Commissioner Carl Parks (D), all unopposed on Tuesday’s ballot, will serve another term in their seats.

Share This Post