Nivison, Harper lead Clare to titles

October 25, 2012

Clare did what they were expected to do in the third Jack Pine Conference Jamboree on Wednesday, Oct. 17. Both the boy’s and girl’s team won league titles with their strong performances at Gladwin’s Cedar Bend Course.

For the boy’s team, the league title is their fifth in a row, while the girl’s have now claimed their third straight.

The boy’s team won the final jamboree with 33 team points.

““I’m proud of a season of various accomplishments,” boy’s head coach Adam Burhans said. “Though we still have plenty of racing left. This continues to be a total team effort from a great group of kids.”

Hunter Nivison took first place in all three jamborees, earning league MVP honors, running a time of 17:30 in the final league race.

Lucas Combs and Kyler Phillips finished next for Clare, taking fourth and fifth place with times of 18:08 and 18:09. Kevin Spicer-Torres took ninth (18:57), Chase Field placed 14th (19:28), Brock Demo placed 17th (20:19), Riley Crawford was 19th (20:38), Nick Wertheimer was 29th (21:13) and Mike Wertheimer was 35th (21:55).

Other top are finishers in the boy’s race were Brandon Frank and Luke Schultz taking second and third for Farwell with times of 17:53 and 18:03 and Harrison’s Brednen Taylor taking 11th (19:16).

The girl’s won the third jamboree with 19 team points.

“This is… a culmination of a season of hard work for the girls,” girl’s head coach Kyle McKown said. “We had many girls step up and earn all-conference honors and I couldn’t be more proud of this group. We are hoping that this can serve as a springboard for us into regional and state meets.”

Victoria Harper won all three jamborees as well, earning the title as league MVP with a time of 20:35 in the final jamboree. Lindsay Winter placed second (20:42), Robyn Stanley took fourth (22:27), Sadie Phillips placed fifth (22:29), Melissa Benchley placed seventh (22:58), Madison McPhee was ninth (23:37), Brooke Beatty was 13th (24:06), Olivia Walworth was 21st (25:36), Amanda Yats crossed in 23rd (25:54), Paige Gould was 24th (25:55), Samantha Warner was 28th (26:12) and Megan Sheredy was 38th (27:49).

Other top area finishers in the girl’s race were Harrison’s Brooke Colville in third place (22:01) and Farwell’s Contessa Hammond finished eighth (23:05).

All three county teams compete at Saturday’s regional at Delta College.

The Clare junior high teams swept all three JPC meets as well, giving both teams back-to-back league titles.

Ben Haupt led the boy’s team with a third place finish (12:29), Gabe Denton was fourth (12:32), Noah Nivison placed 11th (13:34), Scotty Baldwin came across 13th (13:44), JJ Gross was 27th (15:35) and Thad Warner was 28th (15:59).

Jasmine Harper led the girl’s team with a first place finish and time of 12:51, Holly Pummell was second (13:31), Sarah Gray was third (14:10), Mackenzie Harmon was fourth (14:16), Hannah Brown was fifth (14:26), Mabel Krause was sixth (14:37), Jordan Bradley was eighth (14:59), Ashley Rawson was ninth (15:01), Ruth Mooteski placed 10th (15:17), Alea Thayer was 11th (15:18), Lauryn Fairchild was 12th (15:19), Ellie Kaechelle placed 13th (15:23), Paige Keeley was 14th (15:32), Ashley Boulis crossed in 18th (16:46), Olivia Witbeck was 19th (16:51) and Katie Kronewitter rounded out the top 20 (17:04).

Share This Post