Obama, Camp, Stabenow and Johnson re-elected

November 8, 2012


By Pat Maurer

Review Correspondent


It was an “edge of your seat” election night, but by 11:30 p.m. Tuesday, Democrat Barack Obama was proclaimed U.S. President for another four-year term.


Nationally it was close with the final tally at 59,725,608 for the president and 57,098,658 for Republican contenders Mitt Romney and Paul Ryan. Obama collected 303 electoral votes to Romney’s 235 total although as of Wednesday afternoon, Florida, which had a narrow Obama lead, still hadn’t completed their count. Their 29 votes could put Obama’s total to 332.


According to comments by “The Votemaster” on electorial-votes.com, “Although the popular vote was close, the Republicans lost nearly all the swing states, including New Hampshire, Pennsylvania, Virginia, Wisconsin, Ohio, Iowa, Colorado, Nevada, and New Mexico. They probably lost Florida, and almost lost North Carolina. It is true that some of the races were close, but in politics a win is a win and a loss is a loss.”


In Clare County the presidential race was a bit different. Here Republicans Mitt Romney and Paul Ryan claimed a narrow victory with 6,988 votes to the Obama/Biden total of 6,337. Statewide totals were 2,463,502 for Obama/Biden and 2,082,349 for Romney/Ryan.


In Michigan’s U.S. Senate Race, Democrat Debbie Stabenow was a clear winner for another term in Washington, besting Republican challenger Pete Hoekstra by almost a million votes, 2,631,436 to 1,735,619. Stabenow was also the winner here in Clare County with7,748 votes to Hoekstra’s 5,015.

Stabenow, 62, was the first Michigan female to be elected U.S. senator when she upset Republican incumbent Spence Abraham in 2000. This will be her third six-year term.

In the 4th District for the U.S. House of Representatives, Incumbent Dave Camp,59, (R) will keep his seat for another two-year term. He bested challenger Debra Freidell Wirth (D) 196,835 to 104,601 and claimed Clare County with a 2-1 vote, 8,592 to 4,771. The 4th District includes portions of

Northern and Central Michigan, consisting of all of Clare, Grand Traverse, Gratiot, Isabella, Kalkaska, Leelanau, Mecosta, Midland, Missaukee, Montcalm, Osceola, and Roscommon counties and the northern portion of Shiawassee and most of the western portion of Saginaw counties. He was first elected as representative for the tenth district in 1991 and in 1993 was elected to the new 4th District. He has served in the U.S. House for 21 years. In 1988, he ran and won Michigan’s 102nd District of the Michigan House of Representatives and served one term.

Republican Joel Johnson is another local winner, claiming a second four-year term for the 97th District of the State legislature with a 23,291 to 14,386 win over Democrat Chris Breznau. The 97th District includes Arenac, Gladwin, Osceola, Gladwin and Clare Counties. Here in his home county, Johnson beat Breznau 7,248 to 4,758.

Share This Post