Scholarships awarded

March 6, 2014

Left to Right: Tara Pummell, Nicole Solomon,  Katlin Kindel, Shayann Richardson,  MMCC President Carol Churchill.

Left to Right: Tara Pummell, Nicole Solomon, Katlin Kindel, Shayann Richardson, MMCC President Carol Churchill.

This Year marks the second in which Mid Michigan Community College awarded competitive full ride scholarships to eight exceptional high school seniors.  Laker Distinction (LD) Scholarships are offered at two award levels, with four of each being conveyed.

The scholarship’s traditional level provides for 31 credits worth of tuition and fees.  Presidential LD Scholarships, the highest awards, include 62 credits (the equivalent of an associates degree) worth of tuition and fees.  The Presidential LD Scholarship is renewable and includes a $500/semester stipend for books and school supplies.

To qualify for LD Scholarships, applicants must be Michigan high school seniors with a 3.5 GPA or better.

Selection for the 2014 scholarships occurred over the course of two months, and applicants attended two events at MMCC as they progressed through the process.  Final determinations were based on applicants’ leadership, service, and academic performance, which were assessed through a variety of measures.   Students submitted creative response pieces, wrote on-campus essay responses, and, for those moving to the final round of selection, underwent a series of short interviews with MMCC personnel.

“We know that a lot of these high caliber students see MMCC as a gateway to their future educations, so we took the selection process very seriously,” said Brent Mishler, MMCC Associate Director of Admissions.  “We wanted to ensure that review was impartial, fair, and considered the scope of abilities that students have—we really wanted a chance to get to know the applicants as much as possible.”

2014 Laker Distinction Presidential Scholarship (2 year)

Katlin Kindel – Ithaca High School

Tara Pummell – Clare High School

Shayann Richardson – McBain High School

Nicole Solomon – Beaverton High School

2014 Laker Distinction Scholarship (1 year)

Malinda Hershberger – Clare High School

Emily Branigan – Shepherd High School

Vanessa Waldron – Ithaca High School

Travis Walton – Clare High School

Share This Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

Current day month ye@r *