Farwell Board of Education Sets Up Professional Development Advisory Committee

November 11, 2019

Teacher Carrie Carncross and four Elementary students gave a presentation on the Elementary STEM class.
With the Elementary students i front of the group, Farwell BOE members show the result of their STEM “project” to transform a cloud and “think outside the box”. Shown from left are: Superintendent Steve Scoville, John Gross, Shari Buccilli, Kellee Robinson, Bill Geyer, Angelina Smith, and Joe Maxey

By Pat Maurer

At Monday’s Farwell Board of Education meeting, the board approved a new 16 member Professional Development Advisory Committee, whose purpose is to develop two half days in March to full days for professional development with a focus on curriculum.

The Committee includes staff members Carrie Carncross, Tracey Laverty, Laura Pfeiffelman, Hugh Lewis, Meaghan Scott, Matt Horodyski, Kelly Cotton, Lacey DeWitt, Jessica Gauthier, Cathy Gross, Nancy Cairndufff and Dee Yarger. Parents on the committee include Kathy Spence, Amanda Hill, Danika Slocum and John and/or April Lake.

The board also heard a presentation on the Elementary STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering and Math) program by Carrie Carncross with the help of four Elementary Students.

The students explained some of the exercises they use to develop creative thinking and challenged board members to transform a picture of a cloud into something completely different.

In her report to the board Dorothy Boge gave a State Aid Finantial Status report and noted that the unofficial fall student count is 1,070, a loss of 33 students.

Superintendent Steve Scoville reported that the VFW had donated a new flag to the schools and that the Sports Boosters paid for $14,000 in concrete work at the athletic field. He also introduced the new School Liaison Officer Ashley Dawson, who has been on duty for about a month.

High School Principal Dee Yarger report on the induction of ten students to the National Honor Society including Branden Jones, Abigail Mayville, Madelynne Thrush, Abigail Apps, Samantha Farnum, Melanie Hall, Ryleigh Horodyski, Emma Swarthout, Alison Thrush and Madison Travis. Her report said the students were inducted based on their leadership, service, academics and character.

Yarger also listed High School Students of the Month including Hunter Conn, Calvin Linton, Amber Flowers, Krista Dennis, Hauk DeGeer and Timberland students Cameron Evans-Westrick and Jasmine Brown.
Other business at the board meeting included:
*the approval of an overnight trip for the band to Kalamazoo where the Brass Band, called the “best brass band in the world,” will perform and instruct band students;
*approval of Angelina Smith and possibly Superintendent Steve Scoville attending a Michigan Association of School Boards training workshop;
*discussion on implementing an on-line board self-assessment course;
*approval of monthly operation invoices totaling $201,414.42;
*approval of the resignation of three employees including Michele Huber (kitchen), High School Parapro Kathryn Hopkinson and JV Boys Basketball Coach Ryan Sersaw.

Share This Post

Error, no group ID set! Check your syntax!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *