Two vie to be GOP clerk nominee

July 29, 2016

By Pat Maurer

Two Republicans are trying for a county clerk slot on the November ballot Tuesday.

Kim DavisKimberly Davis and Lori Martin each want to face Democratic incumbent Pamela Mayfield for the position this fall. Mayfield has not been challenged on the Democratic side of the August ballot.

Davis, a lifelong resident of Michigan and resident of Clare County since 1980, says she has a strong background in business administration and accounting. She has been with the Clare County Sheriff’s Department since 1986, an administrative assistant since 1998 and clerical supervisor since 2014.

Davis has an Associate’s Degree in Management and Marketing. A graduate of Hazel Park High School in 1979, she attended Wayne State University in 1980 and Michigan Community College in 1983.

She worked previously as office manager for United Rescue Services and the Harrison Area Chamber of Commerce, was a bookkeeper at Quinnan & Chaffee, CPAs, has been a clerical work and volunteer for the Clare County Agricultural Society, an employee coordinator for United Way and is a member of the POAM Bargaining Unit Negotiation Team and a former Union Steward.
Her goals, if elected as Clare County Clerk/Register of Deeds is: to enhance the level of customer service; improve working relationships with other departments, organizations and municipalities; to provide fair, non-preferential treat of employees; provide office services in an efficient and timely manner and to eliminate micro-management.

Candidate Lori Martin
Martin moved to Clare County when she was 9 years old and has remained a resident and raised her family here. She is currently the Clare County Deputy Clerk and works in the Vital Records and Elections Department of the County Clerk’s office.
Previously, she worked at National City Bank (now PNC Bank) for 5 years before accepting a position at Dreyer and Hovey Law Office and Clare County Title Company where she worked for 13 years, while also operating the two small businesses she owns with the help of her family.

She was a cub scout leader for 7 years and girl scout leader for 6 years, she worked on the United Way campaign for 4 years, she is currently and has been for the past 6 years, a “Big” for Big Brother’s Big Sisters, she is also a Lioness, UAW Local 1974 Vice President, Clare County Habitat for Humanity Treasurer, active in her church, Trinity Christian Life Center, a supporter of Clare County Veterans Freedom Park and involved in many other community activities. 

“I have new ideas, ideas to move our County Clerk’s office into the 21st Century. Move our County forward so that our records can be accessed by everyone near and far, not just the locals. Ideas that will increase revenue by enacting simple things such as accepting credit and debit cards. Just because things have always been done one way doesn’t necessary make it the best way. We need new and fresh ideas and I have them” said Martin.

The Clare County Clerk/Register of Deeds oversees the 55th Circuit Court Clerks, Register of Deeds, Vital Records, Elections, and Accounting Department.

Two Republicans, Ricky Craven and Timothy Haskin, and two Democrats, Don Kolander and Mark Lightfoot are seeking a slot on each side of the November ballot for Clare County Road Commission with the winner filling the seat of Julie Lightfoot who was appointed when Eddy Garver resigned.

Road Commissioners Richard Haynak and Michael Duggan’s terms do not expire this year.

There’s no challenges in the race for Clare County Sheriff next Tuesday, but in November Incumbent Republican John Wilson will face Democrat Barney Ledford who was undersheriff during Jeff Goyt’s administration.

In County Commission races, two Democrats, Sandra Bristol and Rick R. LaBoda will be on Tuesday’s ballot in a try for the District 5 seat of Don David, who is not running for re-election.

Republican incumbent Samantha Pitchford isn’t facing a challenge for her District 2 seat Tuesday, but will face Democratic challenger Patrick Uhrig on the November ballot.

Other Commissioners including Chair Jack Kleinhardt, Vice-Chair Dale Majewksi and Commissioners Karn Lipovsky, Jim Gelois and Leonard Strouse are all unopposed for re-election in November.

Other County officials running unopposed for re-election are Clare County Prosecutor Michelle Ambrozaitis, Treasurer Jenny Beemer-Fritzinger, Drain Commissioner Carl J. Parks and Surveyor Paul B. Lapham.

City of Clare Precinct 1B voters (in Isabella County) will vote for one candidate for Drain Commissioner in either the Republican or Democratic Primary. Republicans are Scott W. Brown and Robert J. Willoughby. Democrats are incumbent Richard Jakubiec facing William Scott Moss.

In November those voters will chose between Michael Hosking and incumbent Michael Main for Isabella County Sheriff.

Besides the County-wide proposal for the Clare County Transit, there are two other proposals on the ballot Tuesday.

Winterfield Township voters in the McBain School District will vote on the renewal of the 18 mill non-homestead tax, and Arthur Township will ask voters to approve two mills for four years for roadwork.

Share This Post

Error, no group ID set! Check your syntax!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *