Voters go to polls Tuesday

August 1, 2014

By Pat Maurer

Voters who chose to vote Republican in the Primary next Tuesday will pick the next Clare County Road Commissioner. Incumbent Dick Haynak is seeking another six-year term on the CCRC. He is being challenged for the seat in the Republican Primary by Don Kolander.

Voters cannot cross party lines, but must vote in either the Republican or Democratic Primary.

No decisions will be made next Tuesday, but two County Commissioners will face a challenge in November. Incumbent Democrat Dale Majewski will face Republican and former commissioner Jerry Burger for a two-year term on the board representing District 1 and long-time Incumbent Democrat Lynn Laverty-Grim will face a challenge from Republican Samantha J. Pitchford for the two-year term representing District 2.

The other members of the board are each assured another two-year term. Running unopposed in both the Primary and General Election in November are:

*3rd District Republican Leonard Strouse;

*4th District Republican Jack Kleinhardt;

*5th District Commissioner Democrat Rick R. LaBoda;

*6th District Democrat Karen Lipovsky; and

*7th District Democrat Jim Gelios.

Clare County voters will also have to wait until November to pick the state’s governor, voting for Republican Rick Snyder for another four-year term or choosing Democratic challenger Mark Schauer to lead the state.

The race for a six-year term for U.S. Senator will also be decided in November when Republican Terri Lynn Land faces Democrat Gary Peters.

They will get a voice in which Republican runs for the 4th District representative in Congress.

Republicans John Moolenaar, Peter Konetchy and Paul Mitchell will be vying for the slot on the November ballot and a chance to fill the former seat of retiring Dave Camp. The winner in the Republican Primary will face Democrat Jeff Holmes of Alma in the General Election.

No decisions will be made Tuesday in the race for 33rd District State Senator with Republican Incumbent Judy D. Emmons and Democrat Fred Sprague both unopposed  by others from their party.

The story is the same for the 97th District State Representative with Incumbent Republican Joel Johnson facing Democrat Mark Lightfoot in November.

It will be a quiet election Tuesday on the township level. Running unopposed for terms that end November 20 are:

*Freeman Township Supervisor Republican Alan Housler;

*Frost Township Treasurer Democrat Virginia Hogan;

*Hatton Township Clerk Republican Jessica Evans;

*Hayes Township Supervisor Democrat Terry R. Acton;

*Hayes Township  Clerk Democrat Nancy Austin;

*Redding Township Clerk Republican Marianne Borgula; and

*Redding Township Treasurer Republican Sandi Gruber.

Share This Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

Current day month ye@r *